Post subject: Your advice is much needed regarding a move to Istanbul
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2012 7:08 pm 

Hello everyone

I would like to move to Istanbul with my two children aged 3 and 7.
1) I am a pharmacist by profession but understand that pharmacist jobs are restricted to natives, is this true?

2) if yes then I could consider trying to teach pharmacy in uni but don't know what my chances are to get a pharmacy teaching job ( do they have English speaking universities eg American universities?) and what are my chances to earn a good salary for the three of us, can anyone suggest anything? Somebody I know suggested I make use of my fluent English and Arabic in tourism or translation.I don't mind a complete career change in quest of a better life style (provided of course the salary is good) but I don't know how to go about it though.

3) can non Turks buy property in turkey? Would they have to pay higher taxes/ costs? How would I find a desent estate agent that won't use my lack of knowlegede of the city/ language and won't rip me off? Is it better to go for a flat or a house? Would houses Have all utilities like flats presumably do eg water, has, electric? What's the rough cost of utility bills?

4) there are so many different apartment blocks options when I search Istanbul property on the net. How do I know which ones provide a good quality buy? I get the impression( I might be completely wrong so correct me please), that houses there are older and have better quality built and are tougher whereas apartment blocks are commercial so won't be as good quality , would be more expensive to buy+ service charge etc
Besides I like to mix with the Turkish community so houses would be better for achieving this. How do I find a desent house, what areas would be good?

5) what's the percentage of income tax? What other taxes would I have to pay? Do they have compulsory car insurance like the uk?